Until you go through a divorce, you may not know exactly what it involves. Divorce is a legal process, and those who pursue it can benefit from working with legal professionals. Divorce and family law attorneys can provide their clients with advice and guidance; this post should be read as information only.
This post shares three facts about divorce in Georgia, but it is in no way comprehensive. Depending on the needs and expectations of the parties, divorces can be complex. They can be supported by professionals who are dedicated to understanding and educating others about the law.
Fact 1: Georgia recognizes fault and no-fault grounds for divorce
In order to get a divorce, a person must make a claim as to why their marriage is no longer sustainable. A no-fault divorce involves a claim that the marriage is irretrievably broken and that its failure is not due to one of the marital partners alone. However, a fault-based divorce puts blame for the end of a marriage on one of the parties. Fault grounds include but are not limited to adultery, cruelty, addiction, and intermarriage.
Fact 2: Residency is required to divorce in Georgia
Before a person can file for divorce is Georgia they must establish residency. To do so, they or the party they are seeking to divorce must live within the state for at least 6 months. Until residency is established, the courts of Georgia will not hear out-of-state parties’ divorce cases.
Fact 3: There is a waiting period to divorce
Not everyone who files for divorce ends up going through with it. Some couples reconcile and choose to remain married. Because of this, Georgia courts do not allow divorces to be finalized within 30 days of their filing. This waiting period gives the parties time to reconcile and end their divorce proceedings if they choose to remain married.
Preparing to divorce can take time and understanding of the laws of the state. A legal professional dedicated to family law issues is an invaluable resource to anyone with questions about getting a divorce in Georgia.