Even first-time drunk drivers in Georgia face considerable repercussions for their crimes, and if you are among those charged and ultimately convicted of driving under the influence, you can count on it costing you a pretty substantial sum. In addition to possibly having to spend time behind bars in the wake of your crime, you can also expect to have to pay hefty fines, and you will also typically have to surrender your license for a period which can make it more difficult to come up with the money you owe.
While fines and other expenses relating to your DUI charge can cost you a significant amount of money, so, too, can financing auto insurance once you have a DUI conviction on your record. According to Insure.com, virtually all Americans will see their auto insurance rates skyrocket following a DUI conviction, with the average American watching their rates climb about 80%.
As a Georgia resident with a DUI on your driving record, you can count on your insurance rates climbing about this amount. More specifically, Georgia drivers who have DUIs on their records typically see their annual insurance costs increase by 78% in the wake of a conviction. So, what might that look like?
The average Georgia motorists without a DUI on his or her driving record typically pays about $1,815 a year for insurance coverage. After a DUI conviction, however, a Georgia driver can anticipate paying about $3,226 annually for coverage, which is a difference of $1,411.
This copy is meant for educational purposes and is not a substitute or replacement for legal advice.