If you and your significant other plan to grow your family via adoption in Georgia, you may wish to get started on the adoption process as soon as possible. While it is great that you want to dive right in, be sure to get your ducks in row before beginning the application process. By checking state requirements ahead of time and learning more about the state’s adoption laws, you can ensure that the entire process goes much more smoothly and ultimately works out in your favor.
According to American Adoption, Georgia laws govern adoptions that occur within the states. Per the laws, prospective parents must meet several requirements. If you wish to adopt a child as a single person, you must be at least 25 years of age and at least 10 years older than the child. However, the state lowers this age requirement to 21 in the cases of relative adoption. If you wish to adopt a child as a married adult, you must be at least 10 years older than the child. The state does not have age requirements for married couples.
In addition to meeting age requirements, you (and your spouse if applicable) must pass criminal background checks, medical examinations and home safety checks. Friends, family members and employers must provide glowing references on your behalf. You must also submit to a drug screening and complete a two-hour information session, a 23-hour pre-service training session and a home evaluation.
The information shared here is for your educational purposes only. It is not meant to serve as legal advice.